Song of the Week

Happy Friday, folks!

Here we are again at the end of another week. Hopefully, you all had a good week. Summer is usually the time when everyone falls in love with a handful of songs and declare them the songs of the summer. This summer, I have yet to give a song that title. I know DJ Khaled’s “Wild Thoughts” and Luis Fonsi’s “Despacito” are in the running for many people. What’s your pick?

One song that I really like right now is “Want You Back” by HAIM. The sibling trio returned this year with new music and I love it so far. Their new album Something to Tell You dropped today. It’s playing right now as I write this. “Want You Back” makes me want to dance and has a funky rock feel to it when it really picks up. It’s one thing I love about the band’s music. I’ve seen some trying to categorize it as pop, but it has flavor from different genres that it’s hard to nail their music down. I mean these girls rock out. You can’t really lump that in with artist like Ariana Grande. And that’s no shade to Ariana because we all know the girl can sang!

Check out “Want You Back” and give Something to Tell You a listen and if you love it enough toss some dollars HAIM’s way.

 

P.S. Dua Lipa just dropped the video for “New Rules”, which was my last Song of the Week pick. It’s an interesting video. Other albums I’m listening to today include Sevyn’s Girl Disrupted. Happy birthday, Sevyn.

Kira Elise

Leave a Reply

