A to Z Challenge: Q is for Queens

During Women’s History month I read and saw the stories of so many inspiring women. Sadly, there were still stories and women that I was hearing about for the first time. They did amazing things that seem to just now coming to light. For example, I had no idea who Katherine Johnson was until Hidden Figures came out. Mary Jackson, played by Janelle Monae was even a teacher for short time at a school in my grandmother’s home county.

I’m not sure if it’s my generation or slang that has existed for some time, but there’s a trend of calling influence and badass women queen. giphy (3)

Just the other day, I retweeted a post by Viola Davis about her Top 100 Most Influential people achievement and quoted her tweet with a crown. I had no qualms about giving her royal status. Why are we dubbing women as royalty? I don’t know it’s just a thing we do, I guess.

Particularly in the African-American community, it’s a trend of recognizing ourselves as royalty and not what the media, bigots, and others who would put us down as a people say or try to define us as. It’s nice to see yourselves and people in a positive light, but I’m just me. Not royalty, but not peasant either.

Kira Elise

P.S. I’m a little behind on this challenge. 😦

Leave a Reply

