A to Z Challenge: P is for Patience

It’s a virtue. It takes practice to build it and even then there are times where I struggle to show patience. My mother is the queen of patience. I don’t think I’ve ever met someone with patience like her. Between my brother and I, we did plenty to stress and frustrate her. Sure, there were lectures and times where her patience wore thin, but I’ve seen parents lose it. I’ve seen parents in stores yell at their children.

I want to have patience like my mother. To hold my tongue when I want to really go in on someone. To refrain from expressing my displeasure when someone messes up my schedule or creates more work from something that should have been simple. I don’t mean it in a way of staying silence and letting people walk over me, but in a way that shows maturity and self-control. Patience in a way that shows I don’t approve but I’m not the kind of person who’s quick to anger. It’s a fruit of spirit I’ve been told to work on. So I will.

What do you do when you feel your patience running thin?

Kira Elise

One thought on “A to Z Challenge: P is for Patience

Leave a Reply

