A to Z Challenge: L is for Limits

It’s important to know your limits. Emotionally, physically, mentally, etc. People are always busy. It starts at a young age too. As a child, I participated in Girl Scouts, cheerleading, dance class, a weekly youth group at church, and choir at my school. Almost every day of the week I was in some kind of practice. I loved each and every one of my activities. But, there were times where one had to override the other. I had to miss youth group if I had an out of town cheerleading competition. I was a mini-adult running from cheer practice to choir rehearsal for the Annie musical we were working on my 6th-grade year. Thankfully, my grades never really suffered. When I was in college, I got a similar feeling jogging across campus from one class to a meeting for a student group I was a part of.

I loved each and every one of my activities. But, there were times where one had to override the other. I had to miss youth group if I had an out of town cheerleading competition. I was a mini-adult running from cheer practice to choir rehearsal for the Annie musical we were working on my 6th-grade year. Thankfully, my grades never really suffered. When I was in college, I got a similar feeling jogging across campus from one class to a meeting for a student group I was a part of.

Knowing your limits can save your relationships. There was a point in my childhood where our parents make my best friend and I take a break. We were spending so much time together that we were starting to get on each other’s nerves. I vaguely remember shoving and throwing dirt at each other. I can’t imagine what would have been the outcome if they didn’t change anything. I don’t think we’d still be friends now. Being aware of when you’re reaching a limit and communicating that with others can be difficult. You don’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings, but you also have to protect your own mental health.

Knowing your limits can improve your quality of work. Deadlines can be stressful. Sometimes you’re at work past your regular hours or you’re taking work home. If you hit a point where you just can’t anymore, stop. Exhausted minds make mistakes. Saying no to things and people can make things uncomfortable, but you’ve got to be selfish sometimes.

Kira Elise

4 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge: L is for Limits

  1. lorigg says:

    As an adult I have had times where my limits were stretched to breaking even though I was busy as a child and teenager. I am still learning to evaluate ahead of time and set appropriate limits.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

