Tuesday Talks: The Rules of Setting Goals

Setting goals and creating to-do lists are great ways to get organized and keep track of the steps you’re taking towards something you want to achieve. Whether that achievement is losing weight, completing a novel, starting a new business, or going back to school, monitoring your progress can be a motivator to keep you going.

I spent the first week of the new year setting goals for everything from my writing and fitness to more secondary things like learning how to sew and practicing my hand lettering. Here are just a few of my goals for 2017:

  • Write at least 1,000 words a day
  • Finish my WIP
  • Drink more water
  • Make at least one new writing connection each month
  • Start setting aside savings for a car

Before and during the process of jotting down my goals, I took some time to read about setting goals and how others do it.

One thing that stood out to me is the idea of making sure your goals are realistic. I’m assuming the people who list this bit of advice in their articles mean only adding goals that you can realistically reach. While it’s somewhat true and beneficial for some people not to create outlandish goals, I like to add everything I want to achieve, realistic or not.

I believe you’re doing yourself a disservice if you don’t allow yourself to dream and have big aspirations that you’re not sure can happen. If you’re advised not a to include something in your goals list, you won’t strive for it. If you’re not trying to reach that goal, you’ll never know if you could have actually done it. Don’t put barriers on yourself.

When it comes to setting goals, create your own rules!

Kira Elise

Leave a Reply

