Tuesday Talks: NANOWRIMO Thoughts

We’re about halfway through November and for those of us participating, we’re about halfway through National Novel Writing Month. The goal is 50,000 words.  If I was on track, I would have about 25,000 words right now. I am not on track.

I laugh as I write this because it’s sad but also funny because as much as I have loved the experience and this month has got me writing more consistently, I haven’t been able to do it everyday. Or I at least haven’t worked on the project I started for the month.

I’m a social person, so on weekends when a lot of writers are doubling their word count, as was the goal last week, I was out of the house running around town. This past weekend, I went to a write-in at a local library and found myself browsing through the collection of writing books they had put on display. I even took the time to sign up for a library card. It also probably didn’t that the sponsor was a library staff member who wasn’t at work that day, and her replacement spent quite some time asking me questions about NANOWRIMO and my own writing. It was nice small talk, but distracting.

I think I was doing really well up until the election. In the days immediately following, I had to take a break in the wake of all the chaos it has seemed to unleash. I couldn’t get on Facebook or Twitter without seeing people arguing and it was exhausting as a someone who loves social media.

This month has reminded me that while it is possible, not everyone can knock out a 50,000 word novel in a month. Every writer is different. I’m not more bummed out because my project goal has always been a novelette. It’s a prequel to the novel I’ve been writing. So while the NANOWRIMO site might tell me I’m not done if I don’t hit 50,000 words, I know I am. One thing I have loved about this whole experience thus far is that it’s rejuvenated my love of writing. Even if I’m not working on my main project, I’ve been writing other things and I love that.

Happy writing to all my NANOWRIMO peeps!

Kira Elise

Leave a Reply

