At the Movies: Doctor Strange (spoiler free)

Hey guys, I’m back with another review of the latest movie I actually left my house to see. As I mentioned in an earlier post, November is when a lot of movies come out and that means my list of what to see grows. But, as we all know going to the movies cost money and sometimes I have to pick and choose. This weekend, I went to see Marvel’s latest film, Doctor Strange.

The first words that left my mouth when I left the theater was, “Wow.” My mom’s first opinion, “That was wild ride.” Like Ant Man, Doctor Strange is different that any Marvel movie to come before it. As fan of BCC’s Sherlock, I’m not new to Benedict’s acting ability. He played Dr. Stephen Strange amazingly well.

As a POC (person of color), I went in a little hard-hearted by the casting of Tilda Swinton as the Ancient One, but surprisingly I enjoyed her character. Did I ever think Tilda wasn’t a good actress? No. Are there actresses of Asian descent who could have also gotten the job done. Yes? You can read about director Scott Derrickson’s latest comments on that casting choice in this The Daily Beast interview.

As usual, Chiwetel Ejiofor and Benedict Wong were great. I’m glad they  got as much screen time as they did. In terms of the plot, it was a good origin story but the timeline wasn’t explained in detail. You knew that time had passed but not how much time exactly. This made you feel a little skeptical when the battle scenes came around and Strange showed us his skills.

One of the best things about this film is the special effects. The effects team deserves a standing ovation and whatever kind of special effects awards they can be nominated for. Somethings I would have liked to see is a woman of coat-the-movieslor with a speaking role. Nobody who looked like me said a word, if they appeared on the screen at all.

I’m going to give the movie a B. The special effects and Benedict Cumberbatch boosted this film. With a runtime for just under two hours (an hour and fifty-five minutes), the film felt short. Also, some of the writing and timeline left a little to be desired, not to mention the whitewashing of the Ancient One. I probably need to see the film again to wrap my head around it, because I’m still reeling.

Did you see Doctor Strange? If so, let me know what you think. Tag your spoilers too.

Kira Elise

 

Leave a Reply

