Tuesday Talks: All Summer 16′

As summer ended last week,  I sat on the beach with my family taking in the views and the breeze. I reflected back on all that’s happened this summer in the media, pop culture, and in my own life with my writing and my search for full-time employment. I learned a bit about myself and where I want to be.

Photo Aug 02, 7 42 36 PM

Me in Times Square

My new mission, besides finishing my novel, is to get myself to New York. I spent a week as an intern at an advertising firm and I knew I needed to be in the city even more than I had thought before.

I learned that copywriting just may be the way for me. I also learned that just because I may not have the inspiration for one work, my creativity isn’t in a slump. While I took a step back from my main novel I started drafting and even writing more than one short story and even some fanfiction.

I know for some writers, fan fiction isn’t serious work but I remind myself the heart and time that goes into a project like that and that some published works start out as fanfiction.

My obsessions from this summer were Captain America: Civil War and its introduction of Black Panther, Netflix’s Stranger Things, John Boyega, and Adweek’s weekly Twitter chats. I’m a big Marvel fan and I’m super excited to see Chadwick Boseman on my screen again in his own solo hero film.

Strangers Things took me by surprise. Everyone was raving about it and I wasn’t even sure if I was going to watch it. I was already into season two of Marco Polo and I’m not a fan of scary things. My best friend and I randomly decided to watch it one day. By the end of the week, we had finished the show and I loved it.

Of course, things didn’t go exactly as I had planned this summer but when is life predictable?

Kira Elise

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Talks: All Summer 16′

  1. Aryn says:

    I love Marco Polo. Did you give up on season 2? Sadly it didn’t get really good until the last three or four episodes, but I still enjoyed it. Great post. Hope you make it back to NYC. It such a great city, especially if you’re a writer. What is your novel about?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kira Elise says:

      Thanks for reading and commenting , Aryn! I had to go back and start watching season one again because it had been awhile and I had forgotten plot points. I started season two, episode one going, “Why is Marco running around again?” I’ve heard great things about New York for writers , so I’m excited to get back there. As for my novel, it’s about the first generation of young adults to reach adolescence and adulthood after humans are impacted by nuclear war and mutations that have given mankind abilities and given us more than religion and race to deal with as differences. It’s a work in progress!

      Like

Leave a Reply

