At the Movies: Central Intelligence and Finding Dory

Last weekend, Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson and Kevin Hart teamed up for the comedy, Central Intelligence. The film had a lot of laughs but also great action scenes courtesy of the Rock’s athleticism, action sequence experience, and films choreographers.

The film tells the story of Calvin Joyner, a once popular high school jock, and his former unpopular and ridiculed classmate Bob Stoner who reunite under dangerous circumstances twenty years later. I went into the film expecting a comedy with a little spy plot and action scenes but was pleasantly surprised that the spy plot played a large role and we got quite a few great action sequences. One thing that did surprise me was Dwayne’s character. Without giving too much away, he was not at all how I expected him to be. They did a good job not giving away too much about his character’s personality in the trailers and promotion.

I’m giving it a B-. I wouldn’t go as low as critics on Rotten Tomatoes did giving it a 68% because it was enjoyable and made me laugh.

 

Finding Dory

Like others my age, I’ve waited 13 years to see the sequel to the loved Finding Nemo. I was excited to rewatch the first film before seeing this one before I remembered I only owned it on VHS and the VCR was hidden somewhere in the garage. When I went into the theater, I was curious as to how many of the younger movie-goers had seen the first film.

The film had everything that the first film did and recaptured all the old emotions. There was humor, heartfelt moments, and even a few moments that made you nervous for the characters. All the new characters were brought into the story in a way that made it feel like they’d always been there just never having been introduced yet.

If you can recall there was a lot of controversy over two characters who many assumed to be a lesbian couple. Those characters were on the screen for literally two seconds. So those opposed to the idea of LGBT representation in movies, particularly children’s movies can have several seats and cool off.

I will admit I got teary-eyed. Don’t judge me. I’m giving the movie a A +.

wishing you loveand more birthdaysto come!

As someone who grew up around Star Trek and was super excited when they rebooted the film series, I am deeply saddened by the death of the young man who played the Chekov I was the most familiar with, Anton Yelchin. The news shook me especially I have a brother who turned 27 just two weeks ago; the same age Anton was.  My condolences and thoughts are with his family and friends. I’m sure the Star Trek: Beyond press tour will fair more somber than originally planned. Rest in peace, Anton.

AY

Photo Edit created by me

Kira Elise

 

 

2 thoughts on “At the Movies: Central Intelligence and Finding Dory

Leave a Reply

