At The Movies: The Huntsman

Happy Tuesday everyone! Here’s a spoiler-free opinion post on my thoughts after I saw The Huntsman this past Friday. When I originally wrote this I was in the car on the way home from the theater. I had to get it down while it was still fresh in my mind!

the-huntsman-winters-war-billboard-art

Image from Mashable

When I first heard that Universal was doing another Snow White film, I was excited because I really enjoyed the first one. When the news came later that Kristen Stewart wouldn’t be in it, I was less enthused. I was right in down playing my enthusiasm.

While I didn’t hate The Huntsman: Winter’s War, I felt that it was missing some of the heart and the hook that the first one had. I think this is due in part to the fact that Kristen Stewart was nearing the finale of the Twilight train and I was interested to see her other work when the first film was released.

Snow White was the main character in that film and writers wove the story very well around her. They crafted the film about her growth as character in her quest to reclaim her kingdom and the developing feelings between her and Chris Hemsworth’s Huntsman, Eric. I went into the second film thinking that the Huntsman would be the lead, but it didn’t always feel that way. There were so many other characters whose storylines tried to grab the lead. The film struggled without Snow White balancing it at the core.

I can say that the trailer is misleading in the idea that the entire film is a prequel. I was ready for major back story and something fun and intriguing moments from Charlize Theron’s Ravenna. The back story feels short and rushed. Maybe I shouldn’t have put much stake in the trailer and its representation of the film. Either way, the film is decent despite the 17% on Rotten Tomatoes, but I missed Snow White.

I would love to go into the writing and use of characters, but that would sadly lead to spoilers. If I could back, I would probably wait for the Redbox release instead of paying to see it in theaters, especially right before a summer jam-packed with bigger films starts.

If you’ve seen The Huntsman leave your thoughts in the comments. If you haven’t, avoid scrolling down to miss any spoilers someone else may include in their comments.

Kira Elise

Leave a Reply

