Tuesday Talks : Late Night Inspirations

Happy Tuesday everyone! Here’s to another week underway and another Tuesday Talk. This week’s talk is for my fellow writers and creatives out there.

Have you ever been right on the cusp of sleep, only for an idea to flash through your head? You’re frustrated because you want nothing more than to sleep, but on the other hand, you’re excited. Your brain that’s been stuck on a certain sentence, paragraph, or chapter, is rejoicing. Maybe you suddenly figure out how to finish that poem, drawing, or the lyrics to a song you’ve been writing have finally come together.

One night, last week, I found myself up at three in the morning. My brother had mentioned a writing contest earlier that day and I been playing around with a few ideas. Right after I decided to shutdown my laptop and phone, I got an idea. I groaned at the timing but quickly turned on my lights and grabbed a piece of paper and pen. The details came out as a bulleted listed, but I went to sleep happy afterwards.

For some, spontaneous ideas in the middle of the night can keep you up all night because you have to write it all out immediately. You have to get that chapter done while the idea is fresh in your mind. This is probably problematic when you have a full-time job and you only write on the side. For me, I’m currently freelancing so I have a bit more leeway when it comes to my schedule.

Have you ever had late night inspiration or inspiration at a time when it felt inconvenient? If so, what did you do? Did you get up and write right then? Write a quick blurb and leave the rest for the next day? I want to hear your experience.

Sidenote: Anyone else excited about Star Wars: The Force Awakens being out on DVD today?

Kira Elise

Leave a Reply

